Remolino Banners Aquathlon Champions

sd-winners-2016Standard Distance Winners (L-R) Sarita Zafra, TRAP Trustee; Justine Espiritu C-liumFibre; Vicky Deldio, Women 2nd over-all ; Julius Constantino Men 2nd over-all SD; Leyann Ramo Women Champion; Kim Remolino Men Champion; Marga de los Reyes 3rd; Mark Hosana 3rd Men; Mon Marchan, TRAP President.

 NATIONAL pool member Kim Remolino captured the men’s crown as surprise winners also emerged in the inaugural Philippine Aquathlon Championships at Camayan Beach Resort inside the Subic Freeport Zone recently.

“I know the competition is tough and it was only in the last 300 meters when I thought that I could win this,” said Remolino as the junior elite standout from Talisay City, Cebu, conquered the run-swim-run event in 35 minutes and two seconds.

The women’s side unveiled an unlikely champion in Leyann Ramo, a University of Santo Tomas graduate who took up the sport only last year.

Ramo broke away from the lead pack in the final run to post a winning time of 41:17.
“I’m weak at running, but good thing I was able to maintain the lead after the swim,” said Ramo.
Vicky Deldio finished a distant second at 43:49, while Marga de los Reyes had a 46:15 clocking to complete the podium finishers.

National team members Julius Constantino (35:14) and Mark Hosana (35:15) also settled as runners-up to Remolino.
Inaki Emil Lorbes of De La Salle Zobel topped the 1K run-600m swim-1K run sprint race in 18:25 over Juan Baniqued (18:32) and Marcus Faytaren (18:37).

In the aspirants’ group, sisters Samantha (18:42) and Tara Borlain (19:19) recorded a 1-2 finish over Lauren Plaza (19:21).

Other age-group winners: Miller Wisco, Andre Benedict Alarillo and Joemari Regori (boys’ 16 to 19), Brent Valero and Jacqui Lamparero (16-24), Emmanuel Comendatior and Janina Tan (25-29), Alan Manialung and Nica Joy Rojo (30-34), Jet Ramos and Diana Samson (35-39), George Vilog (40-44), Bic Ferreria (40-above), Gede Delena (45-49), Frank Lacson (50-above).

Read more: